JESUS CHRIST…..DO YOU BELIEVE…..SHOULD YOU BELIEVE

Jesus Christ Crucifix
Image via Wikipedia

In a few days the world will celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ or is it Santa Clause.  For true believers, it will be Jesus.  For “part-time believers”, it will be both.  For atheists, I don’t know if they believe in Santa or not.  Who will it be for you……Are you a Merry Christmas person or a Happy Holidays person???

I am not a religious expert nor am I a fanatic.  I am just me.  An ordinary, every day person with his own beliefs and opinions.  In the realm of religion, I would probably be considered a Christian although I do not belong to any of the many Christian denominations nor do I belong to any of the many religions that exist around the world.  Am I an atheist or agnostic?  I don’t think so; I just believe myself to be a non-believer, but then, I also, have doubts.  Everyone has the right to choose his/her religion and that choice should be respected by everyone else.  I have one exception to this “rule”.  I will never again respect, believe or trust anyone who is a Muslim or chooses the Muslim religion.

Did HE really exist??     Does HE really exist??     I don’t know.    I don’t think so.    All the real proof we have is a book or perhaps I should say a book for most religions.  For now let’s stick to the Christian book we call the Bible.  The “Old Testament“(Hebrew Bible) written thousands of years ago before Jesus and the “New Testament” written in the first century (or there about) after Jesus.  Why and how did the Bible get chosen to be believed.  There are other books about deities (good and bad) so why the Bible.  Again, I don’t know.

Over the years archaeologists, anthropologists, etc. have found sites of old cities, towns, Temples, forts, documents (Dead Sea Scrolls), etc. with many artifacts of the history of the world; but no real proof that God or Jesus really existed.  That being the case, why do people still choose to believe in God and Jesus.  My opinion:  The idea of one God has been around since humans developed a brain that could conceive such a thought and someone (probably the Israelites) was able to convince others to believe.   My opinion:  People needed something or someone to believe in after death to make their lives here on earth worth while.

My opinions concerning the spread of religion (all religions) will make some people angry, some hate me, some curse me and so on down the line; but I am going to express it anyway.  If Jesus and His Disciples ever existed, they are included also.  My thoughts are that all the different religions were begun by the kind of men we refer to today as “con men”.  Men who had the power to persuade masses of people into believing and following them.  Some thrived on that power and were satisfied.  Others used that power to also become both powerful and wealthy.  This type of person has existed down through the ages.  Those who come to mind are Muhammad, Buddha, past Popes, Billy Sunday, Oral Roberts, Louis Farrakhan, Martin Luther King, Jr., Billy Graham,  Jesse Jackson, etc., etc., etc.    All of these people and many of todays ministers who are M.L.K.,Jr. wannabes are using religion to get power and/or for their own personal gain.

Regardless of all the above, I am one who believes in keeping Christ in Christmas and the greeting should be “Merry Christmas”  NOT  Happy Holidays or any other “politically correct” greeting.

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Bible, Con Men, Education, God, Jesus, Muslims, Religion, Santa Clause, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JESUS CHRIST…..DO YOU BELIEVE…..SHOULD YOU BELIEVE

  1. If you think Jesus, (not to mention the disciples and 20th century preachers like MLK Jr. and Billy Graham) was a con man, then why would you want to keep a “con man” in Christmas?

Leave a Reply

