DIE IF YOU WANT, BUT SMOKING BAN IS BETTER

smokin' the pipe

Image by leff via Flickr

I experimented with smoking somewhere between 16 and 19 years old.  I became a true smoker at age 19 after I had enlisted in the U. S. Marines.  Wanted to show my manhood I guess, but I was still a naive child.  For several years I smoke cigarettes and then went to a pipe for a few years and then started smoking cigars. Inhaling all the while.  In 1975 my mother died of uterine cancer which had nothing to do with smoking.  As far as I know, she never smoked in her life.  A 39-year-old friend of mine also died that year from lung and other cancers.  He smoked from two to three packs a day.  Almost what one would call a chain smoker.  I visited him in the hospital one day and decided right then, I did not want to die like that.  Not long after his death, I quit smoking “cold turkey”.  I was 45 years old.  I am now 81.

MY POINT ISSmoking bans are about HEALTH…..Everyones health.  Everyone should realise that smoking bans aren’t put in force to take away a persons civil rights, (even though this might seem to be the case and happen some times) they are to keep the smoker alive longer and to keep the breathers of second-hand smoke alive longer (especially children) and to try to lower health care costs for everyone………..The skyrocketing costs of health insurance, hospital stays, medicines and other treatments, doctors, etc. should be enough to make smokers stop and bans be approved, but politicians are not interested in the people of this country, they are only interested in which party will get the credit or have to take the blame for legislation that is passed.  It is a battle of “egos” not a battle for what is right or wrong or will best serve the people.

THE SIMPLEST WAY TO STOP LUNG CANCER CAUSED BY SMOKING…….is to ban ALL tobacco products from being MADE or SOLD in the State.  But, of course, this is not PRACTICLE  because the State would lose all that precious tax income.  So instead all the politicians say “let’s pretend we are trying to do something by continuously arguing over it”.  “We don’t know any of those people out there who are smokers so what do we care if they die or not”.

WHICH BRINGS UP A RELATED SUBJECT:  OVER POPULATION OF THE WORLD.  With the world being as over populated as it is, why not let everyone who wishes to, smoke all they want.  This will kill them off sooner than expected and kill off several other people from second-hand smoke.  This way there wouldn’t have to be any smoking bans at all.  The problem is it usually takes several years for the lung cancer to develop before these people die so this is not a very good argumentative point for our politicians.

This week the Indianapolis City Council failed to pass a smoking ban……They also failed the people of Indianapolis:  Smokers and non-smokers and their children.  They failed to pass this ban, not because it was right or wrong, but because they were afraid their future elections would be jeopardized.  They did not have the people’s welfare on their minds when they voted, only their own selfishness.

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Education, Federal Interference, Local governments, medications, prescriptions, Uncategorized, Widowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIE IF YOU WANT, BUT SMOKING BAN IS BETTER

  1. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post today thanks. Stop by sometime!

Leave a Reply

