YOU AND ME AND T.V.

Let me begin this little tantrum with the Michael Bubl’e Christmas Show on Tuesday, Dec. 6.  I made plans to watch this show because I had never heard of him before and wanted to know who he was.  Unfortunately I had a “senior moment” and didn’t tune in until the show was half over.  I was pleasantly surprised.  I thought he had a very nice voice.  I detected a little of Frank Sinatra in “I’ll be Home for Christmas” and a little Elvis Presley in “I’ll have a Blue Christmas“.  I did not like some of his renditions, but he has a very smooth voice much like the old “crooners” had.  You don’t hear that very often these days and it was a welcome change.  As for Justin Bieber, whoever told him he could sing, had a deaf ear.  And his greeting “I love you man” was way out of his age group.  I’m going to borrow a line from “Luci” here and say that “My new philosophy is I Love You Man”………….One more comment about Justin.  Why wasn’t the woman who accused him of fathering her baby arrested for child molestation or having sex with a minor.  If she had been a teacher or a coach, she would have been.

TODAYS T.V……. SHOWS?

I realize todays T.V. is geared towards the very young (cartoons) to sell toys; the teenagers to sell electronics, CD’s, games, etc; and to young adults to sell all those adult goodies and that us old people are at the very bottom of the “To Entertain” list to sell false teeth, adult diapers,  breath mints, glasses, hearing aids and for those lucky few old guys a condom every once in a while.  But really, why do all the shows have to be the same and why do we have to have so many copycats.  All police, detective, lawyer and other crime shows are the same.  All situation comedy shows are the same (mostly stupid and not funny).  All doctor shows are the same.  The reality shows are different, but all kind of boring or stupid.  All game shows are pretty much the same, but most of these have fallen by the wayside.  There hasn’t been an original script written for any of these categories for 30 years or more and there are to many shows of each of these categories.  When a network comes up with a new or fairly new idea, every other network has to be a copycat.  Let’s have some new, fresh ideas and more categories to cut down on duplicates.   One more thing that needs to be done………..do away with some of the channels.  Many of them show nothing but repeats of past network shows and nothing original.  Many of them show nothing more than repeats of their own shows with an occasional new program.  Then there are groups of channels owned by the same network and the network just rotates the same shows from channel to channel over and over.  We out here in consumer land are not quite as ignorant as the networks believe.

 

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Christmas shopping, Education, Network T.V., television, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

