IDLE THOUGHTS

SQUIRRELS AND NUTS

Not to be confused with nutty squirrels………If you read my blog on Planters Deluxe Mixed Nuts, you will relate to this.  If not….READ IT……….On occasion I noticed a Red Squirrel on my patio acting like it was looking for food and being the kind old man that I am, I put out a couple of pieces of oat nut bread for him/her.  One day I saw him out there sniffing the bread, but he did not eat any.  He just ran off.  I don’t know if he wasn’t hungry or if he was snubbing me.  Then came the Planters nut fiasco and I set the dish of almonds out.  Today he was back.  I say he, but I’m not sure if this was the same animal because this one only had half of his tail.  I think that can be seen in the picture.  He went to the bread and gobbled down about a third of it before noticing the nuts.  After that first almond, he was hooked.  He must have been one hungry guy.  Before he was through, over two-thirds of the almonds were gone.  It made me feel good to know that he would go to bed tonight with a full belly and Planters lousy nuts served a good purpose.

WORDS TO THE WISE

Do you read all the information on your prescription containers???  If you are between 6 and 106 (and many younger than 6), you have had to have some kind of medication.  When necessary, the pharmacist puts little “sticky notes” on your pill containers about your medicine.  They might say “take with food”,  “take on an empty stomach”,  “take one hour before eating”, “take 2 hours after eating”, “may make you drowsy”,  may make you dizzy – do not operate machinery”,  etc. and my favorite, “may make you constipated or give you diarrhea”.  Does this mean one or the other or alternatively.  Obviously not both at the same time……..Seriously,  when you get a prescription filled, read every thing it says, not only on the container, but also on the printed sheet of instructions that come stapled to the bag.  It could save you a lot of misery.

ROUGH RIDES

Have you ever ridden in an ambulance???  Well if not, here’s hoping your health never makes it necessary.  In the last few years, I have had the opportunity to ride in one five different times.  Believe me once is one time to many……..Let me say here that I mean no disrespect to the ambulance staff.  They performed their jobs quickly, accurately and thoroughly and were very thoughtful in their treatment of me; although a driver did get lost once on the way to the hospital.  When they took me off the ambulance, I told him he was fired……..I am specifically referring to the ride……..Folding the legs on the gurney as I was loaded into thy ambulance was a little bumpy and the gurney itself was not the most comfortable of beds, but the ride was pretty miserable.  I remember thinking that if the ailment didn’t kill me, the ride would.  I sware there were no springs on this vehicle.  Every bump rattled my dentures and at one point I came near to swallowing them.  I remember watching Doc on Gunsmoke haul a wounded man in a buck-board and I know his ride was smoother than mine.  Riding across the prairie in a Conestoga wagon, I’m sure was more comfortable.  I remember thinking that if the ailment didn’t kill me, the ride surely would.  In this day and age with all the tech-knowlegy there is available, there’s got to be a way to improve the ride……….I am not exaggerating about the ride (MUCH), but in every instance that I needed help in getting to the hospital, the rescue people could not have done a better job.  I THANK THEM ALL.

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 87 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in animals, Education, emergency vehicles, medications, prescriptions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IDLE THOUGHTS

  1. cjverrill says:

    I once threaten to throw my shoe at the ambulance driver if he didn’t slow down and be more careful about hitting the chuckholes. Don’t think he believed me cause he laughed but if we would have been farther from the hospital I would have and would have found anything else I could to throw. Totally agree, they need more comfortable riding machines!

  2. Billie says:

    L ARRY, i THINK YOU SHOULD SEND YOUR BLOG TO THE PEOPLE AT ‘CBS’ AND ASK TO REPLACE ANDY ROONEY ON 60 MINUTES ,YOU MAKE SOME REAL GREAT POINTS , WISH YOU LUCK, BILLIE

Leave a Reply

