PLANTERS MIXED NUTS—A FALL FROM GRACE

On Monday, Nov.28, I braved the rain and cold to go get my hair cut and take advantage of a CVS sale.  I needed the hair cut badly and I like to keep myself fairly neat if I should take my last breath, I would make a decent looking corps.

The first two items I put in my shopping cart were two containers of prunes.  Two for $5.00. One never knows when they will be needed.  Next were two 1.5 liter bottles of “Yellow Tail” wine.  $8.99 each, but usually $12.99 according to CVS. (I think that’s a dollar high, but not worth arguing about).  The last two items and the biggest rip-off, was two 8.75oz cans of “Planters Deluxe Mixed Nuts”.  The sale was, buy one at $7.99 and get one free.  A great bargain, right….wrong.  CVS, in the spirit of the Christmas season, marked the nuts up $2.00 a can before putting them on sale.

It has always been my belief that Planters was at the top of the nut business, but like Humpty Dumpty, they have had a great fall.  On all packaged foods is an ingredient list and the first item listed is what the package has the most of inside.  From then on the items listed are less and less towards the bottom of the list.  These cans have the following items listed, in order, from first to last.  Cashews, Almonds, Brazil nuts, Pecans and Macadamia.  Well being the curious cat that I some times am, I poured the nuts into a plate.  I then picked out all the almonds.  They accounted for almost half the nuts in the can.  The cashews were about an equal amount, but they were not all whole nuts.  Some were deformed, some were halves and some were small pieces.  The almonds were almost all whole, but many were deformed in shape.  These two items were definitely not Grade A nuts.  There were no Brazil nuts at all in the can.  The pecans amounted to 20 – 25 very small pieces and only two halves.  The macadamia were a little more prevalent, but were all broken halves or smaller. I am not a fan of almonds, but I ate a couple for taste.  Now I know where the phrase “Arm & Hammer” came from.  In order to chew them one would have to hammer or crush them into pieces first.  I put them in a dish and set them outside for the squirrel that occasionally comes onto my patio.  Hope he doesn’t break any teeth on them.

Needless to say, I will not be buying Planters nuts again.  It’s not a sale when one has to throw away half of what’s in the package…..I intend to check the “free” can in the same way.

Happy Shopping and Merry Christmas

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Christmas shopping, Education, Food Sales, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

