A LETTER TO ERIKA D. SMITH of the INDIANAPOLIS STAR

On Sunday, September 4, 2011, I read your article referring to comments made by Rep. Andre Carson with amazement, surprise, concern and disbelief mostly because I did not believe you would express such “inner feelings” about racism, or even discuss racism to such an extent.  I am an 81-year-old white man and, yes, I am prejudice towards blacks and other races and religions, but I agree with much of what you said.

In some form of the meaning of the word, every one on earth is a racist to some extent against some other race or religion.  From your article, I concluded that you were only referring to one form of racism and that being “white against black”.  But what about all the other forms.  What about just about “everyone” against the American Indian???  If you think blacks have or are getting a raw deal from whites and our government, I suggest you study the plight of the American Indians and then check out “blacks against whites”.  Black racism and prejudice against whites is just as prominent as the reverse and it came shining thru in Rep. Carson’s comments.  I agree that some white people, be they Democrats, Republicans, Tea Party, Independents or what, that would like to hang some or all black people from a tree and there are people out there, black and white, who deserve to be hung from a tree.  My choice now would be President Obama and Nancy Pelosi.  But, both Rep. Carson and myself are wrong to say so in public.  The big difference between he and I is that he represents the people and I’m just an old fart waiting for my time to die.

As for hoping that some day there will be no prejudice or racism, no one alive on this earth today will ever live to see that happen.  The time may come when all races have intermarried to the point where there are no original races left.  But, even then, people will find something to hate about each other.  God may forgive, but people don’t.

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Racism, Racism in Politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

