MORE RANDOM THOUGHTS

This is an x-ray image of a chest. Both sides ...

Image via Wikipedia

SHADES OF THE OLD WEST

I read today that, in order to save money, some smokers were going to these tobacco stores and rolling their own cigarettes by the carton for $10 to $25.  There are 200 cigarettes in a carton.  How the hell long does it take to roll 200 cigarettes???  (Can’t you just see Mat Dillon on his way to catch a bank robber stopping in at the Long Branch to roll 200 cigaretts to take along!!  But, then Mat was one of the smart ones..He didn’t smoke.)  They are not only spending 10 to 25 dollars every week or less to kill themselves, but there using up a good deal of their time off from work to make these cancer sticks.  Wouldn’t it be easier to just quit????

SMOKING IN GENERAL

Don’t get me wrong……I am neither a martyr or a prude.  I smoked from about 1950 until 1975.  In that last year my mother died a miserable death from cancer (she never smoked) and a good friend died of lung cancer at age 39.  I quit “cold turkey” on my own.  Yes it was hard.  It was damned hard, but I’m sure glad I did.  So, what about this banning smoking in public places.  First there were personal law suits against the tobacco companies because of a loved ones death from lung cancer.  Then there were the class action suites.  Then the tobacco companies paid huge sums to the Fed. Govt. from these suites.  Then the feds gave the States large sums of money to educate people about the evils of smoking.  This was a waste of time and that money. Then the Feds, States, Cities, Towns…….started passing laws against smoking in public places because of second-hand smoking dangers and general discomfort to non-smokers, and on and on………OF COURSE the easiest way out would have been for the feds to pass a law against the growing and use of tobacco.  BUT NO, if they did this look at the trillions of dollars in taxes that would be lost to governments. on all levels.  We want people to quit smoking, but we want their money more.  And so we have to have a “sacrificial lamb” and that little buddy is you the smoker.  “Who pays: you do!!!”.  Of course, banning tobacco use would also put tobacco farmers, cigarette companies, etc. out of business and thousands of workers out of work.  So, all you smokers out there, you can continue to smoke all you want, pay extra taxes and kill yourselves prematurely.

I HATE GROCERY SHOPPING………..

After a very nice two-hour brunch with my sister-in-law, I went to Kroger to pick up a few items.  I had four items on my list.  When I checked out I had those four items plus a total of $45.00 worth of groceries.  Am I what is called a compulsive shopper???? or just an old fool????

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 87 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated from Thornton Academy high school In Saco, Maine and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I have had many hobbies during my life. A few of them are drawing, painting, wood carving, Knife making, plants, Bonsai, ancestry and now this. I currently live in Brownsburg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment