RANDOM THOUGHTS

Spider, spider on my back porch,  you spun your web in the sun,       I fear that you will scorch.

Meet my sub-lease Tennent, “Boston Blackie

 

To all the girls who like to give us a thrill, a little ditty………”COMMANDO”

All right girls on a count of three, time to feel a little breeze…… Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah…………COMMANDO

All right girls turn around, we’ll all be looking at the ground……… Ha, HA, Haaaaaaaaaa…………COMMANDO

Time for you to write a verse, I’m sure you won’t do any worse…….. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah…………COMMANDO

My grandparents on my mother’s side were two of the greatest people who have ever walked this earth.  My grandfather was a lobster fisherman until he was 75 years old when he finally gave it up, except for a few years in his early days when he was in the U.S. Coast Guard.  He died at 96.  I can not remember when they did not live with us.  When we were all young he told us lots of stories. Two stories in particular stand out in my mind and are related below.

STORY No. 1:   When my brothers, sisters and cousin were young, we were made to go to Church every Sunday.  My mom always gave us 10 cents (1938 to 1949) to put in the offering.  One Sunday as we were reading to go, my granddad said:  “When I was a kid and went to Church, I would put in a button and take out 15 cents change”.  A little irony here, my grandfather’s name was Church.

STORY No. 2:   Like most kids in those years (1930’s to who knows when) my brothers, cousin, neighbors and me played “Cowboys and Indians”.  Next to baseball it was our favorite game.  Grampy Church always told us that when he was our age, he played Cowboys and Indians with real Indians.  Of course we all objected with disbelief and he would say “O.K. feel my head”.  We would do as he said and there in the top of his skull was a front to back dent in his head.  “See” he said, “that’s where an Indian hit me in the head with a tomahawk”.  Who could doubt him with proof like that!!!!  Of course I have passed this story on to my children and one day my wife was telling the story to a friend (in the presence of my youngest grown up son) and all laughed, but my son said “You mean that it’s not true”…………….

What else to say.  Oh well, we’ll come back to this another day. 

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 87 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RANDOM THOUGHTS

  1. Billie says:

    Dear Larry, Thank you for sharing your memory ‘s of Nannie and Bump , they were very special people . Billie

Leave a Reply

