SOLVING THE ISTEP FARCE

After reviewing the ISTEP information in the Ind. Star this week, I, in my infinite wisdom, my 10 years of grade school, my four years of highschool and my 62 years of experience in absolutely nothing to do with education, I have come up with the perfect solution for the ISTEP test farce.  Of course the simplest thing to do would be to eliminate it altogether, but that would be to easy for our “State School Powers That Be” to comprehend with their sophisticated and complex minds.  Therefore, I have devised a more complicated solution that should satisfy every genius educator in Indiana.

We have one very biased newspaper and three local T.V. stations who are only interested in sensationalism.  From them everything I’ve read and heard is that “poor teaching” is to blame for all our students being “cheated” out of a deserved education.  What a bunch of crap.  This smells of “Put the blame on Mame, Boy”.  The only ones to blame are the students themselves, the parents and the State Board of Education.  I the students and their parents don’t care, then I sure as hell don’t care.  Let them end up in jail, be shot dead on the street, etc.  It is a waste of money to try to save them because society doesn’t need or want them.  Enough of that.  It will only fall on deaf ears anyway.

My plan is to have those kids in various good schools help the ones in the so-called bad schools.  We do this by “mixing”.  Exam-ple….  We take half the students out of the NO.1 school, send them to the worst school and take half of the students from the worst school and send them to the No.1 school.  Then we “mix” them in the classrooms and they can help each other during and after school hours.  Do this with all the good and bad schools right down the list.  I guess ISTEP does have a little value; it creates a list.  How can this not help create students who all have better grades??  Of course, we will have to end extra curricular activities to gain more study time.  But then, think of all the expenses that would be eliminated if there was no more Football, Basketball, etc………..

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

