CARMEL PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS

Saturday, April 2, 2011

I was reading the Indianapolis Star today about the new Indiana Design Center at 200 South Rangeline Road.  (For more information, go to www.indianadesigncenter.com)  The article said the Design Center was   “Part of a public-private partnership with the city of Carmel (CRC) and Pedcor Companies to develop Carmel’s old downtown into a new design and cultural hub.”   I understand that PPP”s come in several different contract forms.   It should be noted here that like “partner-ships” exist between Carmel (CRC) and Pedcor for some new buildings in the new Arts District, the partially constructed complex known as the Circle Center Mall and other buildings in the area.  Another like “partnership” exists for the Lurie Building on Main Street between Carmel (CRC) and the Stenz Development Corp.  For more info. on Pedcor, go to   http://www.pedcor.com  For more info. on Stenz, go to http://www.stenzcorp.com/home.html

I mention all this because one of the questions asked at the Council candidate’s debate was—-Are you for or against subsidising businesses in Carmel??—-If I remember right, every candidate answered NO in some way, shape or form.  My attendance in the School of Hard Knocks didn’t afford me much of an education in business or lawyering so I may be wasting my breath (or skin on my finger tips) with all this, but I don’t see a difference between these CRC partnerships and subsidising the above mentioned businesses.  I hope a member of the Carmel City Council or CRC will be kind enough to explain all of this to me.  I think the Carmel voters would like to know what this is all about also………

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 87 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

