A TRIBUTE TO JIM HORTON

A few years before my retirement in February, 1993, I began raising a few rabbits for fun and I started going to state rabbit shows around Indiana.  I met Jim Horton at one of these  shows about a year later.  We seemed to hit it off right away.  I suppose because we both liked a good joke and both had a good sence of humor.  Jim taught me about breeding rabbits and soon I began showing my own along side of him at the judge’s table.  Of course he always beat me. We soon became fast friends and got together when we could.  Trouble was we lived almost 60 miles from each other and couldn’t get together near often enough.

It turned out that he and I were also interested in some of the same hobbies other than rabbits; namely guns, making knives, exotic woods, leather items, etc.  Jim had another friend, Don, who made custom pistol and revolver grips and one day he introduced me.  We soon became three old men buddies.  On each visit we would go out to lunch, check out a couple electronic stores and maybe stop at Cold Stones for ice-cream.  Just three old guys having a nice day. These get-togethers went on when we could all get a free day until last week when, on March 4, Jim passed away.

Don and I will still continue to go to lunch, talk about all of our favorite subjects, and reminisce about Jim. One of these days Don and I will  join Jim, and he will be waiting with a new joke or story to tell us and again, it will be just three old guys “Having a Nice Day”………

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 87 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A TRIBUTE TO JIM HORTON

  1. Billie says:

    Sorry to hear of your friend Jim’s passing. I’am sure you had many good times.It was good to have had him for a friend they are hard to come buy, you both were bless, Billie

Leave a Reply

