EVICTING THE MONEY MONGERS–CARMEL, IN

This will be one of the most important elections held in Carmel since Mayor Brainard was first elected, and like many other people, I want to see Mayor Brainard defeated.  We have two prominent members of the community running against him, but which one do we want as our next mayor.  My personal choice is Councilman, John Accetturo.  I believe he is better qualified thru his education and experience than Mr. Spieglman.  I do not know either man personally and I do not believe personal feelings should enter into who one decides to vote for in elections.  So far, thru his actions, Mr. Accetturo has convinced me that he is more truthfully interested in the citizens and City of Carmel’s future.  Mr. Accetturo has agreed to debate in the up-coming League of Women Voters Carmel Mayoral Debate on April 12th, 2011.  I do hope that Mr Spieglman and Mayor Brainard join him.  If neither one nor the other or both do not show, that will send a message to every Carmel citizen…………

As for the City Council, the following should be re-elected:  Rick Sharp, Luci Snyder, Eric Seidensticker and possibly Kevin Rider.  I believe these four people have kept the mayor from putting the city in much deeper debt than it is.  All of the other incumbent council members need to be replaced with new blood.  Of the few new people running for the council (and there are not enough) I believe Carol Schlif, John Koven and Wayne Wilson should be elected.

It seems to me that mayor Brainard wants to turn Carmel into “Car-mel by the Sea”, a vacationers’ paradise where only the rich can survive and the average “Joe Citizen” is not welcome.  I can see the vacation ads now: “Come to Indiana and vacation in the State’s Little Super City, Car-mel by the Corn Fields”….besides the wonderful music and plays in the Palladium and new play house, we have a petting zoo, corn shucking contests and swimming in the drainage ponds around our office buildings.  Of course you will have to share the ponds with a few geese and “gators”.  There will be a nominal fee for all of these delightfully, fun events because our Mayor has managed to (with the help of the CRC) accumulate an enormous debt and he needs your hard-earned dollars.

This is only chapter one folks.  Stay tuned for chapters 2, 3, etc. and then GET OUT AND VOTE !!!!!!!!!

About wverrill

My nick name is Larry. I am from Saco, Me. I am 85 years old and my next birthday is July 30. Politically I am an independent. I graduated high school and had approx. two years at Purdue U. in Indiana. I currently live in Brownsberg, IN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EVICTING THE MONEY MONGERS–CARMEL, IN

  1. You follow me around, I’ll return the favor when I can. Congratulations on the new blog. Quite eloquent, I might say. Refreshingly simple compared to many I read and write for….enjoy this new outlet. That’s what they’re for. For what it’s worth, you write pretty well, too. 🙂

  2. Becki Montague says:

    I agree, totally…Rich and I went to see just what this Palladium is. It is a beautiful building and yes, we will probably go to one or two concerts there, but I could have lived very happily without it. The average person will never benefit from this….only the rich, but the middle class will be paying for it for years to come. You would have thought they would have learned their lesson from the Monon Center…it is not turning a profit either and is struggling.

  3. O.B. Bedell says:

    I dont know your town and dont know your people. Dont know if you are right or wrong but right or wrong, you are doing something, if nothng else but waking people to think and use options. Who knows where this can take your town. I am very sure there many many intellegent people in Carmel, too smart to run for politics but whose ideas, when put together could brighten the future of the town. Good Luck with your project. O.B.

Leave a Reply

